The Danube Cycle Path in the Wachau along vineyards
The Danube Cycle Path in the Wachau along vineyards

Everyone is talking about it. 70.000 travel every year the Danube Cycle Path. You have to do it once, the Danube Cycle Path from Passau to Vienna.

With a length of 2850 kilometers, the Danube is the second longest river in Europe after the Volga. It rises in the Black Forest and flows into the Black Sea in the Romanian-Ukrainian border area. The classic Danube cycle path, which is also known as Eurovelo 6 from Tuttlingen, begins in Donaueschingen. Of the Eurovelo 6 runs from the Atlantic at Nantes in France to Constanta in Romania on the Black Sea.

When we talk about the Danube Cycle Path, we often mean the busiest stretch of the Danube Cycle Path, namely the one from Passau in Germany to Vienna in Austria. 

Danube Cycle Path Passau Vienna, the route
Danube Cycle Path Passau Vienna, the route

The most beautiful section of the Danube Cycle Path Passau Vienna is in Lower Austria in the Wachau. The valley floor from St. Michael via Wösendorf and Joching to Weissenkirchen in der Wachau until 1850 as Thal Wachau bezeichnet.

The cycle tour from Passau to Vienna is often divided into 7 stages, with an average distance of 50 km per day.

  1. Passau – Schlögen 44 km
  2. Schlögen – Linz 42 km
  3. Linz – Grein 60 km
  4. Grein - Melk 44 km
  5. Melk – Krems 36 km
  6. Krems – Tulln 44 km
  7. Tulln – Vienna 40 km

The division of the Danube Cycle Path Passau Vienna into 7 daily stages has shifted to fewer but longer daily stages due to the increase in e-bikes.

Is the Danube Cycle Path signposted?

Is the Danube Cycle Path signposted?
The Danube Cycle Path is very well signposted

The Donauradweg Passau Wien is signposted with square, turquoise-blue signs with a white border and white lettering. Below the heading there is a bicycle symbol and below that in one level a directional arrow and the blue Eurovelo logo with a white 6 in the middle of the yellow EU star circle.

The beauty of the Danube Cycle Path

Cycling down the Danube Cycle Path just like that is wonderful.

It is particularly nice to cycle directly along the last free flowing stretch of the Danube in Austria in the Wachau on the southern bank of the Danube from Aggsbach-Dorf to Bacharnsdorf, or through the Au from Schönbühel to Aggsbach-Dorf.

Meadow path in Schönbühel-Aggsbach village on the Danube Cycle Path-Passau-Vienna
The Auen Weg in the Wachau

When the autumnal evening sun shines through the leaves of the natural floodplain forest that borders the Danube Cycle Path on both sides along the Danube in the flood plain of the Danube.

Through the Donau Au near Aggsbach Dorf in the Wachau
Through the Donau Au near Aggsbach Dorf in the Wachau

stairway

The nice thing about the Danube Cycle Path Passau-Vienna is that the cycle path runs along the Danube and for long stretches even directly on the banks of the Danube on the so-called stairway. The stairway was built right on the riverbank so ships could be pulled upriver by horses before steamers took over. Today, long stretches of the stairway along the Danube in Austria are used as cycle paths.

The Danube cycle path on the stairway in the Wachau
The Danube cycle path on the stairway in the Wachau

Is the Danube Cycle Path paved?

The Danube Cycle Path Passau-Vienna is tarred throughout.

When is the best time of year for the Danube Cycle Path?

The recommended seasons for the Danube Cycle Path Passau-Vienna are:

The best times for the Danube Cycle Path are in spring May and June and in autumn September and October. In midsummer, in July and August, it is too hot. But if you have children who are on vacation in summer, you will still be on the Danube Cycle Path during this time. One advantage of the summer temperatures comes when camping. In midsummer, however, it is advisable to get on your bike very early in the morning and spend the hotter days in the shade by the Danube. There is always a cool breeze right near the water. In the evening, when it gets cooler, you can still cover a few kilometers along the Danube Cycle Path.

In April the weather is still a bit unstable. On the other hand, it can be very nice to be out and about on the Danube Cycle Path in the Wachau during the time when the apricots are in bloom. At the end of August at the beginning of September there is always a change in the weather, as a result of which the stream of cyclists on the Danube Cycle Path decreases significantly, although ideal cycling weather prevails from the 2nd week of September to mid-October. It is particularly nice to be out and about on the Danube Cycle Path in the Wachau during this time, as the grape harvest begins at the end of September.

Grape harvest in the Wachau
Grape harvest in the Wachau
Top

Wo ist der Donauradweg?

Der Donauradweg in der Wachau entlang von Weingärten
Der Donauradweg in der Wachau entlang von Weingärten

Alle reden davon. 70.000 befahren jedes Jahr den Donauradweg. Einmal muss man ihn machen, den Donauradweg von Passau nach Wien.

Die Donau ist mit 2850 Kilometern Länge nach der Wolga der zweitlängste Fluss Europas. Sie entspringt im Schwarzwald und mündet im rumänisch-ukrainischen Grenzgebiet ins Schwarze Meer. In Donaueschingen beginnt der klassische Donauradweg, der ab Tuttlingen auch als Eurovelo 6 bezeichnet wird. Der Eurovelo 6 verläuft vom Atlantik in Nantes in Frankreich nach Constanta in Rumänien am Schwarzen Meer.

Wenn wir vom Donauradweg sprechen, dann meinen wir oft die am meisten befahrene Strecke des Donauradweges, nämlich die von Passau in Deutschland nach Wien in Österreich. 

Donauradweg Passau Wien, die Route
Donauradweg Passau Wien, die Route

Der schönste Abschnitt des Donauradweges Passau Wien ist in Niederösterreich in der Wachau. Der Talboden von St. Michael über Wösendorf und Joching bis Weissenkirchen in der Wachau wurde bis 1850 als Thal Wachau bezeichnet.

Die Radtour von Passau nach Wien wird gerne in 7 Etappen eingeteilt, mit einer durchschnittlichen Strecke von 50 km pro Tag.

  1. Passau – Schlögen 44 km
  2. Schlögen – Linz 42 km
  3. Linz – Grein 60 km
  4. Grein – Melk 44 km
  5. Melk – Krems 36 km
  6. Krems – Tulln 44 km
  7. Tulln – Wien 40 km

Die Einteilung des Donauradwegs Passau Wien in 7 Tagesetappen hat sich durch die Zunahme an e-bikes etwas zu weniger aber dafür längeren Tagesetappen verschoben.

Ist der Donauradweg ausgeschildert?

Ist der Donauradweg ausgeschildert?
Der Donauradweg ist sehr gut ausgeschildert

Der Donauradweg Passau Wien ist mit quadratischen, türkisblauen Schildern mit weißem Rand und weißer Beschriftung beschildert. Unter der Überschrift befindet sich ein Fahrradsymbol und darunter in einer Ebene ein Richtungspfeil und das blaue Eurovelo Logo mit einer weißen 6 in der Mitte des gelben EU Sternekreises.

Das Schöne am Donauradweg

Flussabwärts den Donauradweg eben so dahin radeln ist wunderschön.

Besonders schön ist es direkt der letzten freien Fließstrecke der Donau in Österreich entlang in der Wachau am Donau Südufer von Aggsbach-Dorf bis Bacharnsdorf, oder durch die Au von Schönbühel bis Aggsbach-Dorf, zu radeln.

Auen Weg in Schönbühel-Aggsbach Dorf am Donauradweg-Passau-Wien
Der Auen Weg in der Wachau

Wenn die herbstliche Abendsonne durch die Blätter des den Donauradweg beidseits entlang der Donau säumenden natürlichen Auwaldes im Überschwemmungsgebiet der Donau scheint.

Durch die Donau Au bei Aggsbach Dorf in der Wachau
Durch die Donau Au bei Aggsbach Dorf in der Wachau

Treppelweg

Das Schöne am Donauradweg Passau-Wien ist auch, dass der Radweg entlang der Donau und über weite Strecken sogar direkt am Ufer der Donau am sogenannten Treppelweg verläuft. Der Treppelweg wurde unmittelbar am Flußufer angelegt, damit Schiffe von Pferden flussaufwärts gezogen werden konnten, bevor das von den Dampfschiffen übernommen wurde. Heute wird der Treppelweg entlang der Donau in Österreich über weite Strecken als Radweg genutzt.

Der Donauradweg am Treppelweg in der Wachau
Der Donauradweg am Treppelweg in der Wachau

Ist der Donauradweg geteert?

Der Donauradweg Passau-Wien ist durchgehend geteert.

Wann ist die beste Jahreszeit für den Donauradweg?

Die empfohlenen Jahreszeiten für den Donauradweg Passau-Wien sind:

Die beste Zeit für den Donauradweg sind im Frühling Mai und Juni sowie im Herbst September und Oktober. Im Hochsommer, im Juli und August, ist es zu heiß. Doch wer Kinder hat, die im Sommer Ferien haben, wird trotzdem in dieser Zeit am Donauradweg unterwegs sein. Ein Vorteil der sommerlichen Temperaturen kommt beim Camping zu tragen. Im Hochsommer empfiehlt es sich jedoch, sich morgens sehr früh auf´s Fahrrad zu setzen und die heiße Zeit untertags im Schatten an der Donau zu verbringen. Direkt in Wassernähe geht immer eine kühle Brise. Abends, wenn es kühler wird, kann man dann noch ein paar Kilometer am Donauradweg zurücklegen.

Im April ist das Wetter noch ein bißchen unbeständig. Andererseits kann es sehr schön sein, während der Zeit der Marillenblüte bzw. Aprikosenblüte in der Wachau am Donauradweg unterwegs zu sein. Ende August Anfang September kommt es immer zu einem Wetterumschwung, in dessen Folge dann der Strom an Radler am Donauradweg deutlich abnimmt, obwohl ab der 2. Septemberwoche bis Mitte Oktober ideales Radfahrwetter herrscht. Besonders schön ist es auch während dieser Zeit am Donauradweg in der Wachau unterwegs zu sein, da ab Ende September die Weinlese vonstatten geht.

Weinlese in der Wachau
Weinlese in der Wachau
Top